Birthday haircut

August 27, 2009

Today is Dustin‘s birthday and we’re meeting for lunch.  He just texted me and said he might be ten minutes late because he just sat down to get a buzz at Rudy’s.  I told him to be sure to tell them that it is his birthday.  This reminded me of a story.

My dad bought a “free haircut” coupon at our church’s youth auction a few years ago.  This is totally a practical way my dad would have supported the auction.  Anyway, my dad went to this barber to redeem his haircut.  He liked the service and end product and went back and actually paid for his next haircut.  This went on for a few years and they became friends.

Then on May 1st, 2009, my dad was visiting her for a haircut.  He mentioned that it was his birthday and she gave him his haircut for free.  This was a big deal for my dad and not only did he tell me about it on the phone that day, I heard him over Mother’s Day weekend in Portland tell the “I got a free haircut” story 3 times.  My dad is always looking for a bargain.

After he died on May 21st, I answered my parents’ phone in Boise and received a call from the woman that has been cutting his hair for the last 3 years.  She called to offer her condolences and tell me how much she appreciated cutting my dad’s hair.  I was able to tell her the story of the “free haircut” and how proud my dad was of it.  She said, like a lot of people during that week, “Let me know if there is anything I can do.”  I said, “Yeah, give away another free haircut for the youth auction.”

I like this story for 3 reasons.

  1. I love the random way we meet people.
  2. You never know how big a “small gesture,” such has giving away a free haircut, can have on people.
  3. Always use your birthday and wedding day to get some nice perks.

Mothers Day

2 Responses to “Birthday haircut”

  1. ali Says:

    love it.
    miss u.
    xo.
    aje.

  2. Josh Says:

    If I could read something like that at the beginning of everyday, my days would be lighter, more insightful, and would remind me to speak and enjoy the little things. Plus it would clean out my tear ducts to make my eyes more healthy.


Leave a Reply

